Last Updated on October 23, 2023 by Alex PT
No, you cannot block a serve in volleyball. According to the FIVB Volleyball Rules, “A player cannot block or attack a serve from on or inside the 10-foot line.” (Rule 9.3.1)
Can You Block A Serve In Volleyball?
1. Understanding the Volleyball Blocking Rule:
The basic rule in volleyball in terms of blocking is that any time a ball is coming from the opponent’s side, the players can form a block. However, this rule applies primarily to the rally following the service, not the serve itself.
2. Volleyball Service Block Protocol:
According to the official rules of volleyball as cemented by Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB), a player is not permitted to block or attack a serve from on or within their opponent’s service area. This rule is in place because blocking a serve would produce an unfair advantage and change the dynamic of the game.
3. What Constitutes a Block:
In volleyball, a block counts when actions are designated to intercept a ball coming from the opponent, and that is directed back to the opponent’s court. Therefore, jumping and reaching over the net to block the service would violate the rules.
4. Implications of Blocking a Serve:
If a team attempts to block a service, the action is deemed a fault, and it results in a point awarded to the opposing team. Therefore, it is critical to understand this rule to avoid an adverse impact on the match outcome.
5. Differences in Beach Volleyball:
It’s worth noting that although blocking a serve tends to be universally disallowed in indoor volleyball, some forms of volleyball like beach volleyball have different rules. In beach volleyball, a block counts as one of the three hits allowed to a team.
While volleyball rules can seem daunting initially, with practice, understanding comes much more naturally. Though you cannot block a serve in volleyball, remember that once the serve is over, a realm of strategic moves and blocks opens up to take the game forward.
What if you spike or block the ball after the serve?
If you spike or block the ball after the serve, it is a legal play. However, there are some rules that you need to follow.
- You can only spike the ball if you are jumping from behind the 10-foot line.
- You can only spike the ball if you are hitting the ball with one hand or any part of the arm above the waist.
- You cannot touch the net while spiking.
- You can only block the ball if you are standing at the net.
- You can only block the ball with your hands and arms.
- You cannot reach over the net to block the ball until the opposing team has hit the ball.
If you violate any of these rules, the opposing team will be awarded a point.
Here are some examples of legal and illegal spikes and blocks after they serve:
- A player jumps from behind the 10-foot line and hits the ball with one hand above the waist.
- A player spikes the ball over the net and into the opposing team’s court.
- A player spikes the ball from in front of the 10-foot line.
- A player spikes the ball with two hands.
- A player touches the net while spiking.
- A player stands at the net and blocks the opposing team’s hit with their hands and arms.
- A player blocks the ball over the net and back into the opposing team’s court.
- A player reaches over the net to block the ball before the opposing team has hit it.
- A player blocks the ball and it goes out of bounds.
During play, teams are permitted 3 hits to return the ball through the net. The block doesn’t count as among the 3 hits so long as the player’s or maybe players’ hands have been above the roof of the web during the block. If their hands weren’t above the net, it’s considered one of the 3 hits. Right after an authorized block, the very first hit is usually taken by any professional, like the player who simply blocked the ball.
It is contrary to the rules to block an opponent’s serve. Blockers also need to allow the hitter to attack. Whenever the block attempt disrupts the opponent’s play, or maybe the block rolls on the ball before the hitter does, it is a place for the opposite side.
Can You Block And Spike On A Serve In Beach Volleyball?
No! You’re not permitted to block and spike the ball in beach volleyball.
How Many Times Can You Serve In Volleyball?
Honestly, serving in volleyball can be so frustrating since it can last very long. A serving player can serve again if he wins a point when serving. He won’t stop serving until his team loses the point. So, a serving player will keep serving until his team loses the point, meaning he can serve even 25 times per set.
What If You Touch The Net During A Block Or Attack?
There are lots of rules you need to obey since volleyball is really a technical sport. One of these rules is the net rule. It’s just illegal to touch the net in the game of volleyball. Doing so will attract a loss of points.
The table below contains questions and answers on how many times one can serve in volleyball, whether you can return a serve in volleyball, or serve with a closer first in volleyball, and how blocking is done in volleyball.
|Can You Punch A Ball In Volleyball?||You can hit the ball with any part of your body, as a matter of fact, when the ball hits any part of hour body, it is known to be a legal hit.|
|Can You Return A Serve In Volleyball?||Yes! You can return a serve directly in as much as it’s not above the net in front of the 3 meter line.|
|Can You Serve A Volleyball With A Closed Fist?||The best way to serve is with an open hand even if you can hit the ball with closed fist. You should start by holding the ball at shoulder level.|
|How Can You Make Legal Blocking In Volleyball?||One makes authorized blocks as he or she’s attempting to prevent the ball from getting to the own side of his of the court in volleyball.|
Can You Block Or Attack A Serve In Volleyball?
When the ball is above the top of the net, you’re not allowed to block or attack a serve, according to the official rules from the FIVB – if the ball isn’t above the top of the net, complete an attack hits directly. However, to stop an attack from the opposing team legally.
What Is Illegal Blocking In Volleyball?
Immediately after a team’s 1st or maybe 2nd team hit, the ball won’t occur with the opponent as well as the net will not be equipped to produce a play on it, the blocker is able to reach over and block. in case, in the referee’s judgment, a professional might create a play on the ball when the blocker would not have touched it, the block is unlawful.
How Is Blocking Done Volleyball?
In the game of volleyball, one can make blocks when he or she is trying to stop the ball from getting to his own side of the court. If the ball lands back on the other team’s side of the court, there will be a point for the blocking team.
Final Words – Wrapping It Up!
Based on the rules from FIVB, players are not permitted to block or even attack a serve once the ball is above the roof of the net. However, if the ball is not above the top part of the net, finish an attack hits directly. We’ve come to the end of this informative article. We hope you were able to find resources in your quest to know if you can block a serve in volleyball. Please do not hesitate to contact us for questions or comments. Thanks!