New Orleans Hockey Team With Overview (Well Explained with Ample Tables!)

Last Updated on February 13, 2022 by

The only NHL hockey team in New Orleans, Louisiana is the New Orleans Brass which was in existence from 1997 to 2002. Back then, the New Orleans Brass was affiliated with the San Jose Sharks. From 1997 to the 29th of October 1999, all their home games were played at the New Orleans Municipal Auditorium. However, they moved to the new arena at the New Orleans Arena on the 29th of October 1999. Besides, when the New Orleans Hornets (NBA) moved to the Arena, the franchise was folded. Transforming the ice-playing surface to a basketball floor many times per year was becoming too expensive for the Brass. 

The future New Orleans mayor Ray Nagin owns the team while Dan Belisle managed the team. Additionally, Ted Sator was the first and only head coach of the New Orleans hockey team. The Brass won three series and made the playoffs every single year. They won their first two series on the 1998-99 season when they had a poor run. The other series was won in the 2000-01 season, which helped them secure spots in the conference semifinals and quarterfinals. By the way, Louisiana IceGators we’re the arch-rival of the New Orleans Brass. 

Season Results From 1997-2002

The table below contains the data about the New Orleans Brass season result from 1997 to 2002.

SeasonGPWinLoseTiesOTLPCTPlayoff Result
1997-98703624100.586Lost in Round 1
1998-99703027130.521Lost in Round 3
1999-0070362707.564Lost in Round 1
2000-01723525120.569Lost in Round 2
2001-0272363240.528Lost in Round

New Orleans Brass Hockey Team Players

The table below contains the players that played for the New Orleans Brass from 1997 to 2002. This list is detailed for most teams, but for some elusive teams, the list may be bigoted. We have listed some of the players. Check them out! 

Player NameBirthplace
Antti AhokasPori, Finland
Chris AldousMassena, NY
Francois ArchambaultChateauguay, PQ
George AwadaMendota Heights, MN
Martin BartekZvolen, Slovakia
Mathieu BastienLa Sarre, PQ
A.J. BeggNew Westminster, BC
Chris BellNew Westminster, BC
John BlessmanAgincourt, ONT
Doug BonnerTacoma, WA
Jesse BoulericePlattsburgh, NY
Chris BowenBarrie, ONT
Eric BruleVictoriaville, PQ
David CameronWinnipeg, MAN
Patrick CharbonneauSaint-Jean, PQ
Steve CheredarykCalgary, ALTA
Martin ChouinardVanier, PQ
Brad ChurchDauphin, MAN
Adam ColagiacomoToronto, ONT
Kevin ColleyNew Haven, CT
Adam CopelandSt. Catharines, ONT
Derek CriminSault Ste. Marie, MI
Earl CronanWarwick, RI
Chad DameworthMarquette, MI
Kimbi DanielsEstevan, SASK
Robert DeCiantisMississauga, ONT
Marc DeitschIndianapolis, IN
Matt DemarskiWinnipeg, MAN
Sylvain DeschateletsBlainville, PQ
Craig DesjarlaisLaSalle, ONT
Patrick DovigiSault Ste. Marie, ONT
Jason DowneySault Ste. Marie, ONT
Jimmy DroletVanier, PQ
Gordie DwyerDalhousie, NB
Adam EdingerToledo, OH
Omar EnnaffatiToronto, ONT
Matt ErredgeMankato, MN
Craig FoddrillYpsilanti, MI
Kyle FoddrillYpsilanti, MI
Bryan ForslundSherwood Park, ALTA
Chris FoxGrosse Pointe Farms, MI
Terry FriesenWinkler, MAN
Ryan FultzRochester, MI
Rob Garrick‡Mississauga, ONT
Pascal GasseSt. Zotique, PQ
Pierre GendronMontreal, PQ
Aaron GoldadePrince Albert, SASK
Marcus GustafssonKnivsta, Sweden
Russ GuziorChicago, IL
Kelly HarperSudbury, ONT
Dan HeilmanOlds, ALTA
Brad HodginsDuncan, BC
Martin HohenbergerVillach, Austria
Roger HoleczyLake Forest, IL
Tyson HollyCormac, ONT
Jean-Francois HouleCharlesbourg, PQ
Dalen HrooshkinSaskatoon, SASK
John HultbergChicago, IL
Sami JarvenpaaTampere, Finland
Alex JohnstoneHalifax, NS
Scott KingSaskatoon, SASK
Antti KohvakkaTampere, Finland
Mikhail KravetsLeningrad, Russia
Darryl LaFranceHanmer, ONT
Francis LariveeMontreal, PQ
Ted LavalletteMontreal, PQ
Kam WhiteChicago, IL
David WhitworthCoquitlam, BC
Chris WickenheiserSwift Current, SASK
Greg WillersAurora, ONT
Martin WoodsHull, PQ

Team History & Standing 

We’ve constructed this table to enlighten you on the Brass team history and standings. 

1997-1998ECHLConference QF loss 
1998-1999ECHLConference SF loss 
1999-2000ECHLPlayoffs Qualifier loss 
2000-2001ECHLConference QF loss 
2001-2002ECHLPlayoffs Qualifier loss 

Franchise All-Time Player Stats

The table below contains the franchise’s all-time player stats. 

1. Jeff Lazaro (RW)307
2. Darryl LaFrance (RW)175
3. Adam Edinger (C)122
4. Steve Cheredaryk (D)111
5. Jean-François Houle (LW)108
6. Stéphane Soullière (C)101
7. Joe Seroski (RW)99
8. Scott King (RW)72
9. Mark Polak (C)71
10. Ryan Fultz (RW)65

Franchise All-Time Goals 

The table includes the franchise’s all-time goals. 

 Jeff Lazaro (F)261112195307
 Darryl LaFrance (F)1448689175
 Adam Edinger (F)885369122
 Joe Seroski (F)112524799
 Stéphane Soullière (F)1424754101

Franchise All-Time Assists 

The table includes the franchise’s all-time assists. 

 Jeff Lazaro (F)261112195307
 Darryl LaFrance (F)1448689175
 Steve Cheredaryk (D)2972784111
 Adam EdAll-Time)885369122
 Jean-François Houle (F)1054662108

Franchise All-Time PIM

The table below contains the franchise’s all-time PIM. 

 Steve Cheredaryk (D)29727111978
 Jason Downey (D)118126508
 Jeff Lazaro (F)261112307452
 Dean Moore (F)1291535448
 Martin Woods (D)1191763347

Franchise All-Time Game Played 

The table below contains the franchise’s all-time game played. 

 Steve Cheredaryk (D)2972784111
 Jeff Lazaro (F)261112195307
 Chad Dameworth (D)17912728
 Darryl LaFrance (F)1448689175
 Stéphane Soullière (F)1424754101

Franchise All-Time Assist Per Season 

This table contains the franchise all-time assist per season for the New Orleans Brass

 Jeff Lazaro (F)1997-19987064
 Jeff Lazaro (F)1999-20007056
 Scott King (F)1997-19985646
 Adam Edinger (F)2000-20015845
 Jeff Lazaro (F)1998-19995244


We’ve reached the closing session of this informative article. We hope you were able to find good and reliable resources in your quest to know about the New Orleans hockey team. If you have any questions or comments about the article topic, don’t hesitate to contact us. Thanks!

Leave a Comment