New York Football Teams Of NFL

Last Updated on October 13, 2023 by Alex PT

There are two NFL teams in New York: the New York Giants and the New York Jets. Both teams play their home games at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The Giants have won four Super Bowls, while the Jets have won one.

About The Buffalo Bills 

The Buffalo Bills are a well-known professional American football team founded in Buffalo, New York state. They are well-known members of the East sector of the American football conference in the NFL. They play their local games at Orchard Park, in 2008 they started a tradition that made them play at least one game in a season in Toronto, Canada. The Buffalo Bills started playing in 1960, they first played as charter members of the American Football League and they became part of the NFL when they started the AFL to NFL merger in 1970. 

The Bills are champions in their state as they have been able to win the American Football League title two times consecutively. They won in 1964 and came back and claimed that same championship in 1965. They haven’t been able to win the championship game ever since the merger started. The Buffalo Bills are the only team in history to win the American Football Conference Championship four consecutive times. As a result of this, they have played in four Super Bowls. They lost all four times but it is an honor to be in the Super Bowl at all. 

The Buffalo Bills were given their name based on the winning entry of one of their local contests. They were given the name after the AAFC( All-American Football Conference) Buffalo Bills. The former Buffalo Bills were merged in 1959 with the Cleveland Browns. That team was named after a man named William Frederick. Just like every football team, they have cheerleaders, they call them the Buffalo Jills. The mascot which is an important part of a football team is known as Billy Buffalo. 

About The New York Jets

The New York Jets are a very popular and professional American football team with a headquarters in Florham Park, New Jersey, the team plays mainly for the New York metropolitan area. The team has been a member of the Eastern sector of the American Football Conference which is part of the National Football League. The New York Jets have to pair with the New York Giants for a stadium. The two teams share the Meadowlands Stadium which is located in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Although the stadium’s major owners are the New York Jets. 

The team was originally founded in 1959, back then they were given the name Titans of New York. They have been a member of the American Football League since they were founded. They later joined the AFL during the merger of the NFL and AFL. They started their competitive play in 1960 at the Polo Grounds. New ownership came into play in 1963 which warranted them to change their name to the New Your Jets. They now played their local games at Shea Stadium. This was their new home as from 1964. They played at Shea stadium for some years and later moved to Meadowlands in 1984. The New York Jets went on to the Playoffs for the first time in 1968, that same year they played in the Super Bowl and best Baltimore Colts for the cup. This made them the first AFL team to beat an NFL team since the merger and in the merger. Ever since their first win in 1968, they have made it to the playoffs thirteen times, they also got to the AFC championships four times. 

About The New York Giants

This is yet another team based in New Jersey but yet representing the New York metropolitan area. They are also a professional team, they share a stadium with the New York Jets at East Rutherford, New Jersey. They are known to be members of the Eastern division of the NFC(National Football Conference) in the NFL. They play all local games in the meadowlands stadium with the arrangement which they have made with them. 

The Giants were among the five teams that first joined the NFL in 1925. They are much older than the rest New York Teams. Among the five that were admitted that year, they are the only ones that still exist as a team till now. Among the NFL teams, they have been ranked to be number three on the list. They have won seven NFL titles, they had gotten four first before the super bowl was founded. They still kept a stronghold as champions. They have had another three championships since the merger. 

The number of championships won by this team is only surpassed by two teams, Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers. Since they started playing football in 1925, the New York Giants have had 15 halls of fame legends on their team from then till now. They have had NFL MVPs and award winners like Frank Gifford, Charlie Conerly, and Lawrence Taylor. Although their name is also the name of a baseball team right here in New York, they have been able to change their name and it is now known as the New York Football Giants. 


These are the details of the New York NFL teams. They have another team in New York but they are not NFL teams.



Leave a Comment