Original 6 Hockey Teams In NHL (With Overview Of Each team!)

Last Updated on February 13, 2022 by

The Montreal Canadiens (1917), Toronto Maple Leafs (1917), Boston Bruins (1924), New York Rangers (1926), Chicago Blackhawks (1926), and Detroit Red Wings (1926) are the Original Six NHL hockey teams.

Just like we all know, the NHL has a rich history of the Original 6. But don’t be astounded by the fact that the “Original Six” are not the original hockey teams in the NHL. In 1917, the NHL was established, and during the first two decades of existence, it had only a few teams that were continually changing. Besides, the Montreal Canadiens, Montreal Wanderers, Ottawa Senators, and Toronto Arenas were the first NHL teams. If you’re looking for resources to know about the Original 6 hockey teams in the NHL, then you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we are going to look closely at an overview of each of the Original Six teams and where the name Original Six came from. Let’s go! 

The Original Six (Overview Of Each Team)

1. Montreal Canadiens 1917

Montreal Canadiens 1917

In 1909, Montreal Canadiens 1917 was founded as part of the National Hockey Association. The Original Arena of the team is Mount Royal Arena. They’ve made 84 appearances in the NHL Playoffs, winning staggering 23 Stanley Cups. This team has 55 hall of farmers. To be honest, no one can doubt the fact that Montreal is the gold dogma of NHL hockey teams. 

You can’t possibly say anything about NHL without acknowledging this team. Don’t forget Montreal is where NHL was invented, founded. The Montreal Canadiens had the most winning franchise of all-time, most traditional, and, probably, most passionate fans in the world of hockey. 

Franchise Scoring Leaders: All-time Assists: Guy Lafleur, 1246; All-time Goals: Maurice Richard, 544; and Guy Lafleur (77-78), 60; Single-Season Assists, Guy Lafleur, 136 (76-77); Single season Goals: Steve Shutt (76-77).

2. Toronto Maple Leafs

The Toronto Maple Leafs was founded in 1917, and Arena Gardens is its Original Arena. This team has won the Stanley Cups 13 times after appearing in the NHL playoffs 69 times. If you’re talking about the NHL teams with the most fans, then Toronto Maple Leafs should come first. They dominate the headlines on the sports stations even though they are one of seven teams in Canada. Unfortunately, the Leafs haven’t been able to win the Stanley Cup for a while now, and they remained the only team in the NHL with the longest Stanley Cup drought at 53 years. 

Franchise Scoring Leaders: All All-time Assists: Mats Sundin, 987; Single season Goals: Rick Vaive, 54 (1981-82); Single-Season Assists, Doug Gilmour (1992-93), 127; All-time Goals: Mats Sundin, 420.

3. Boston Bruins

The Boston Bruins was founded in 1924 and its original arena is Boston Arena. With 73 appearances in the NHL playoffs, this team has managed to win 6 Stanley Cups. The Boston Bruins were the first American team in the NHL, and their first NHL game was played in the United States in December 1924. The game ended in their favor as they beat the Montreal Maroons 2-1.  

Franchise Scoring Leaders: Single-Season Assists, Phil Esposito, 152 (70-71); All-time Assists: Ray Bourque, 1506; Single season Goals: Phil Esposito, 76 (70-71); All-time Goals: Johnny Bucyk, 545. 

4. New York Rangers

The New York Rangers is an NHL team founded in 1926, and its original arena is Madison Square Garden. This team has successfully won 4 Stanley Cups, after having 60 appearances in the NHL playoffs. With 53 hall of Famers and 8 retired numbers, the New York Rangers is also a classic NHL team. If you’re a foreign-born hockey player, you must have dreamt of playing for the New York Rangers. This team is known for being the best place for a number of college youngsters and free agents. 

Franchise Scoring Leaders: All-time Assists: Rod Gilbert, 1021; All-time Goals: Rod Gilbert, 406; Single-Season Assists, Jaromir Jagr, 123 (05-06); Single season Goals: Jaromir Jagr 54, (05-06). 

5. Chicago Blackhawks

 Chicago Blackhawks

Chicago Blackhawks is a hockey team in the NHL. It was founded in 1926, and its original arena is Chicago Coliseum. This team has appeared in the NHL playoffs 63rd times with only 6 Stanley Cups. With 40 halls of farmers and only 7 retired numbers, Chicago Blackhawks is only of the classic teams in the NHL. In this present century, this team remains the most successful among the Original Six. On the core of a Patrick Kane, Jonathan Toews, and Duncan Keith dynasty, the Blackhawks won three Stanley Cups. If you’re talking about teams with the most intimidating arenas to play in for opposing teams, then the Blackhawks should come first. The supporters/fans give the Hawks a huge momentum push at the start of the game by cheering and singing the national anthem while on their feet at the old Chicago Stadium. 

Franchise Scoring Leaders: Most Points, Season: Denis Savard, 131 (87-88); Most Goals, Season: Bobby Hull, 58 (68-69); Goals Leader: Bobby Hull, 604; Points Leader: Stan Mikita 1467; 

6. Detroit Red Wings

This team was founded in 1926 when it was previously known as Detroit Cougar until 1930. It went on to have some name changes; Detroit Falcons (1930-1932) Detroit Red Wings (1932-Present). The Original Arena is Olympia Stadium, and they’ve got 11 Stanley Cups. Detroit Red Wings have made 64 appearances at the NHL playoff. Also, they’ve got 65 halls of farmers. 

Franchise Scoring Leaders: All-time Assists: Gordie Howe, 1809, Single-Season Assists: Steve Yzerman, 155 (88-89), All-time Goals: Gordie Howe, 786, Single season Goals: Steve Yzerman, 65 (88-89). 

Closing Thoughts 

Collectively, the Original 6 hockey teams have won 64 Stanley Cups since the creation of the NHL. Besides statistical achievements, these legendary teams have fired up the world of hockey in America and other countries in North America with their intense rivalries, rich histories, and legendary players. We’ve reached the final session of this informative article. We hope you were able to find good and reliable resources in your quest to know about the Original 6 hockey teams in NHL. If you have any questions or comments about the article topic, don’t hesitate to contact us. Thanks!

Leave a Comment